World Hijab Day…2016

I love that there’s an official celebration for hijab every year, and the message that World Hijab Day tries to promote. While the event tries to promote hijab and show the various fashionistas, business women and pioneers of hijabi women, I think that it’s also more important in showing the non-hijabi women out there what it’s like and how empowering hijab can be, rather than oppressive.

I’ve seen a lot of fabulous hijab stories out there already, and it’s amazing to see them come from countries all over the world – for me it just proves that modesty and hijab can be a universal concept, rather than just restricted to the idea of a piece of fabric covering your head. I have said before that I believe it’s important to send an important message to our younger generation of girls – hijab is not something to be ridiculed, ashamed of or misunderstood, and that there is nothing wrong with wanting to cover. If there are questions about it, we are always happy to spread awareness and show the reasons why we cover.

I have heard it said that us ‘hijabi’ bloggers can get a little obssessive over the hijab and tend to write about it too much – while I agree that we see it as part of our identity, perhaps we write about it so that we can get others to understand how we feel and who we are. I do think that the hijab brings out a lot of our inner traits which we may not necessarily be confident about if we were too focused on the way we look – in today’s Facebookin’, Intagrammin’, Twitterin’ generation, this is becoming more and more important to us.

But I’ll leave you with something a little more light-hearted – perhaps we love our hijab so much because it allows us to show women’s beauty and what we love about ourselves – Β I certainly think it helps me enhance my bright lipstick of the day!

hijwannhave

3 thoughts on “World Hijab Day…2016

  1. So nice to hear that you are proud of wearing the hijab. I live in Melbourne, Australia, and it is not a common sight. When I was growing up in Malaysia and Singapore, many of my Muslim friends wore it proudly every single day. Hijab not only shows us the world our beauty, but also reminds the world of the culture behind it. We are all different and wear different clothes, and we should respect each piece of cultural attire πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: FREE button for your blog! | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

