The Girl in the Red in The Maze of Wonders

Featuring: My niece as The Girl in Red (special thanks to her)

One of the fun attractions at Leeds Castle was the deceivingly confusing maze, I’ve always loved mazes and puzzles, and I’ve always wanted to go in a proper one (seeing as the last one I went to was a really rubbish one in Disneyland which involved everyone just following the next person over hedges that was just ankle-high). And before you ask, it’s not cos of the maze scene at the end of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. Although that didn’t hurt either.
So it was great fun wandering around with the sisters and the niece, with all of us shouting out different ‘directions’ and er, trying not to cheat. Thank goodness it was a sunny day too, although we did worry about those mysterious puddles we found.

Looking at these pictures reminds me of those role-player maze games where you just keep clicking til you either find a door or get hopelessly lost. Or get eaten by a troll.

I also look like a bit of a stalker with these pictures but I swear I’m not. I mean, wasn’t. Oh, you know what I  mean.

Oohh, I think we’re getting a bit lost…(we were stuck in this maze for about an hour after laughingly saying it looked too easy. Fools that we were.)

Ooh! There she is! Let’s follow her!

Follow the follow the follow the girl in the red coat…

Eeeek! Dead end! Back to square one. Grrrr.
(By this point it was looking a lot less easier than when we first went in. I’m pretty sure there are skeletons in some dead-ends, or at least, some koalas nibbling on lost foreigners )

Okay let’s keep going, she looks a bit more sure this time…

Look! I sense the end in sight! Run, run girl in red, look at those fools going the wrong way!

Yaaaaaaayyy! There’s a rocky grotto to climb at the end of the maze. Now peer down and  laugh at all those fools still walking around blindly. No, not me, don’t point at me. Oh, fine.

We tried to cheat a bit (just a teeny bit) by trying to ask some of the people in the middle to guide us…but none of them could see us jumping up and down and asking for help. So we had to do it the long and boring honest way, and found our way at the end of the maze after a lot of whinging and going around in circles some good navigation and team work.

I think one of the things I loved best of all about the maze was just how neat and square all the hedges look. Even though I’ve never had a hedge in my front or back garden in my life, I can still appreciate a nice bit of greenery. Y’know?

Definitely worth a visit and a good wander around the maze if you ever decide to visit the Castle!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.