Making Time for Prayer

I’m sure you have noticed that I am blogging a little less these days, which is mainly due to the long hours of fasting, as well as being kept busy with work, food preps and taking time for quick naps!

One of the biggest parts of Ramadan when fasting is prayer – not just the five times a day worship, but other forms of prayers as well. Fasting is not enough on its own, for a lot of Muslims there is no point starving yourself of food all day if you do not understand spiritually why you are doing this, and how it can help us. It is this which makes our fast more meaningful, and also more likely to be accepted by God as something truly offered in Ramadan

Unfortunately, in today’s busy society, we all have pretty lives – I know my sisters and I all have full-time jobs and household responsibilities which can take up a lot of our time, and even in the long hours of Ramadan, we find ourselves busy. We also find ourselves tired, running on less sleep and low energy which can make it more difficult for us to make sure we put some time aside for ibadah and prayer.

My goal this month has been to spend more time reading the Quran, as well as looking at the English translated copy I have, which I have always enjoyed reading because of the detailed background it gives to so many stories. It’s ironic, when we were all little and learning our letters, being taught the Quran by our father, we were never that appreciative and we always tried to hide from our lessons or fall asleep in them (me!). These days, when we want to do these things, we feel like we just have no time for it, let alone free time to ourselves. We all try to set goals for ourselves every Ramadan – but meeting them can be a little bit of struggle. Equally, a lot of women who aren’t fasting due to pregnancy, or nursing children, or even busy mothers who keep fasts but are unable to pray, often feel guilty because they feel their contribution isn’t enough – I think I can agree with those who say that raising your child and nurturing them is a form of worship to God, and that feeding and looking after your family shouldn’t be underestimated.

I’ve been lucky enough this year, however busy I have been, to be helped a lot by my husband, who often takes the time to cook after work, or clean around the house (he still doesn’t pick up his coffee mugs though), which leaves me with more free time. I’ve been making an effort to make more time for prayer and looking a small duas that I can incorporate. As we enter the last ten days of Ramadan, each night becomes more special, and even though I’m pretty sure I’ll get busier (that Eid shopping won’t get done by itself!), that special atmosphere in the air, that sense of camaraderie will make it more of a reason to take the time to count our blessings : )

20160618_200629

Leave a Reply

