Gourmet Burgers at Olive & Lemon

The Olive and Lemon is a small bistro-style restaurant which is close-by to my workplace, so friends and I have often ended up there for lunch for a more luxurious lunch. It’s also handy because the majority of the food served is halal, there’s a good range of dishes and they also serve quickly in the lunch hour, being used to a crowd.

I also love the quaint decor of this place – it really lives up to its name of ‘olive and lemons’ with citrus trees scattered around, boxes of herbs and olives, mis-matched buckets and baskets of flowers hanging around the walls.

(Excuse the bad quality of my photo, I only had my mobile phone to take pictures which isn’t the best!) You can see that the decor really creates a warm atmosphere, which is even more beautiful in the summer should you want to sit outside.

OLIVE AND LEMON (8)

Here’s what we actually opted for the last time I went with some work friends – I went for a grilled chicken burger with chips, my friend had the ‘Chef’s Special’ burger (which, when we asked what it was, were told it was just ‘mindblowing’ – it turned out to be a lamb burger) and another two of us opted for chicken and falafel wraps.

OLIVE AND LEMON (3)

OLIVE AND LEMON (1)

OLIVE AND LEMON (2)

I’m not sure how flattering the pictures are, but the food was actually quite nice, and reasonably priced – not to mention the big portions. The burger I got was pretty big with a lot of salad and seasoning, and was decently cooked (the ‘Mindblowing’ burger was apparently not that mindblowing, but reasonable!). We also got huge sides of salad and chips with our food which was great for what we paid as well, which was around £5-6 each.

I love finding small spots which are

While the Olive and Lemon isn’t exactly a high-end restaurant, it’s not your average chicken-and-chips shop either, they take care to make each dish appetising and most of it feels quite healthy. I also loved that a lot of dishes reminded me of food I’ve tried in Greece and Turkey, which really adds to the Mediterranean feel they have.

Good grub for a lunch-time break, and a nice place to sit around with friends for a chat – and if you tell them you’re on your break, they’ll bring your food out quicker too!

Leave a Reply

