Journal Your Ramadan – Day #10: J is for Juice

One of things which I feel the most in the heat of summer days is that longing for a cool drink in the middle of the day – here’s what I wish I was drinking today (although I’ll stick to water for now!)

One of the things that Ramadan really makes me appreciate is the abundance of water we have at the tip of our fingers, which we can take for granted – we all know how much gets used washing, drinking, doing laundry, for toilets – and it’s easy to forget what a valuable commodity it is in countries where there are those who are less advantaged than we are.

During the heatwave which has been gradually climbing towards us, I also turn to those in Pakistan who have been hit by extreme heat of 45 degrees celsius and above recently, and who struggle to fast – which makes me re-think the stick and humid atmosphere that we call heat here in London, and how lucky we are that it is bearable at least, for us.

It also makes me appreciate the luxury of cold drinks when we do open our fast at iftar time – it can be one of the biggest challenges of Ramadan to not think about your thirst and keep a cool attitude, and focus on getting through the day. It’s certainly  made me change my attitude towards our luxury of water – I try to drink as much water as I can but it feels more striking when you know how much you’ve longed for it.

So here’s a drinky post for you – and also a request to keep the people struck by heatwave in Pakistan in your prayers.

20130526_181744

Leave a Reply

