Nifty Russian Dolls

Did you know that the proper name for Russian dolls are matryoshka dolls? I didn’t. Anyhoo, I’ve always wanted one, probably because of the nifty way you can stack each one inside the next, like a super-efficient storage thingy that I need for 95% of the possessions I have. I saw these flowery beauties today and thought about buying some, then didn’t because I started wondering whether you could get novelty ones like Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle ones or Power Ranger ones.Ā  Haven’t seen any yet, but I’ll keep looking.

IMG_20150205_183836

5 thoughts on “Nifty Russian Dolls

  1. Jos Cox

    My understanding is that Matryoshka means mother, and Babushka means sister. It used to annoy me too when I started to hear them called Babushka, but apparently either is acceptable. They are not as traditional to Russia as you might think – the first set being made in Russia in 1890 by Vasily Zvyozdochkin, inspired by similar Japanese dolls. The Japanese dolls only have 1 or 2 inner dolls usually, and are not as elaborately decorated. I have been told these started to be made by the icon painters, who were running out of work? You can definitely get novelty ones, fairies and Santas, and all sorts. Haven’t seen any TMNT – but that sounds cool. You can get custom painted ones – from Russia even. (try Etsy).

Leave a Reply

