Journal Your Ramadan – Day #15: ME

So, this is me. As I’m sure you’ve guessed, I love photography. I also love a lot of other things. I love books (I read far too much sometimes, I’ll read at work, on the train, on my mobile, on my eReader, my computer, and of course I read a lot more comic books than perhaps I should). I love drawing. Not so great at it, but I try anyway. I also like looking at stupid and funny things on the internet very much, half of the Weekly Links I’ve found are purely by accident, through one of those sessions where you type in ‘jobs in London’ and end up with ‘Dancing cats with bread on their head’.

Ramadan for me is one of those times which feels almost surreal, there’s something in the air which makes it feel all Ramadan-y, perhaps it’s the smell of samosas in the air, but I like to think that it’s more the feeling of unification in Islam, and the fact that our faith feels stronger, purer. Every year it feels like it will be a long month, and consistently, every year the month rushes by so fast that before you know it, it’s Eid. It’s crazy to think that we’re halfway through Ramadan already, we’re just settling in and learning new things we didn’t know about before, and most of all there’s that feeling of appreciation, of our follow Muslims, of the food we have, the lives we lead and the feeling that we are very, very lucky.

So that’s me today, I feel blessed that I’m able to sit here on a laptop and tap away with ease – I could easily be in another country worrying about my next meal or about my safety. In this month we learn not to take what we have for granted too much, and to use our positions to help others less fortunate. I’m hoping to do just one thing this month which will make a difference to someone, whether it’s charity, or sending aid to developing countries. I’d urge you to do the same in this month, if not to help others, then for the reward you’d get for it.

– Harlequin x

day15Props to my sister for letting me take a picture of her face with her sunglasses on!

One thought on “Journal Your Ramadan – Day #15: ME

Leave a Reply

