Weekly Photo Challenge: Curved Flowers

I thought I would join the Weekly Photo Challenge, which is ‘Curves‘ this week – my interpretations is curved (and curving flowers). I found these beautiful flowers (and a whole load more) at the wonderful Eden Project, Cornwall.

#1. This is one of my favourite flowers that I saw at the Eden Project (and not just because they remind me of those striped sweets, Campinos, either!). These flowers looked vividly coloured and graceful, and of course, they’re very photogenic. From all of the flowers in the Eden Project that stays with me the most, this is one of them.

DSCF2466

2. I remember my mum pointing this out to me in the walkways at Eden Project, which we all ‘ooh-ed and ahhed’ over. It’s not obvious in the picture, but this patch was pretty huge, and covered quite a wide space, which made the purple and green spirals look even more magnificent because it encircled the stone walkways and seemed to follow us around as we walked around the garden areas. It must have taken a lot of work to make these curves, but it was well appreciated!

DSCF2540

3. Lastly is this arum lily, which I saw in abundance at the Eden Project and which I’ve included because it’s one of my favourite flowers. There’s something about this flower which represents elegance to me, it almost reminds me of a sheath dress made from a single piece of fabric and seamless stitched together to make a striking, elegant Greek-style robe. The way this flower curves upwards and outwards in a shape which I’ve always tried to capture on paper and in photography, but it’s something which will always fascinate me.

IMAG1897

And that folks, is my post about curves – what’s your idea of a curve?

One thought on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Curved Flowers

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Curves | Pilot Fish

Comments are closed.