Tang Yau Hoong’s Art of Negative Space

The art of negative space. An attempt to tell a story through illustration.

I love this concept of negative space in art, creating an image using space around an idea and – a bit like an optical illusion. Tang Yau Hoong is a Malaysian-based designer and illustrator who designs surreal and abstract images, using various concepts to create beautiful art. I love his take on the idea of negative space (and check out his artwork for surreal light as well as illusion/surrealism, which is just as cleverly done and beautifully drawn). I’m a huge fan of this form of art, and optical illusions have always been a concept which has caught my eye and pulled at my curiosity, and I think that Hoong has created his own designs beautifully.

Below are just a few of the images I love, but have a look through Hoong’s pages and explore his mind, there’s a lot to admire.

All images belong to Tang Yau Hoong

Leave a Reply

