Presents from the Motherland…

…and I don’t mean the grocery shop selling mangoes down the road! I love the smell of new things wrapped in foreign newspapers, bringing up old memories of visits to Pakistan from years ago, bringing up images of bazaars, luxurious fabrics, street-food (roasted peanuts! mmmm) and running around on rooftops in the sun.

A kind friend of mine visited Pakistan recently and bought me a few sparkly trinkets, bangles and some seriously yummy smelling sweets and coco-bean packets (‘Ding Dong‘ is a well-known bubble gum which my sisters and I used to steal years ago from my uncle’s shop in Pakistan and eat by the handful).

Some pictures of the wonderful treats I have, making for a very pretty, colourful stash!

Leave a Reply

